The citadel became a UNESCO World Heritage Site early this month
The opening is expected to promote the relics further and attract individuals and scientists to preserve them. Numerous fragments of china and pottery have been excavated.
Local experts and scientists affiliated with UNESCO are conducting excavations around the site. A master plan for the long-term preservation of the Thang Long Royal Citadel is also in the works.
This is the central axis of the Forbidden City remains, including Ky Dai - Doan Mon - Kinh Thien - Hau Lau and Bac Mon. Not much, but that is the mark where the ancient remains of the highest concentration of power of the most feudal dynasty of Vietnam.
The citadel was constructed earliest by the Ly dynasty in 1010 and remained the seat of the Vietnamese court until 1810, when Hue became the capital city. The royal palaces and other various structures were largely destroyed by the colonial French in the late 19th century. Some structures remain such as Doan Mon gate and the Flag Tower of Hanoi, as well as the steps of Kinh Thiên Palace and the Hau Lâu (Princess' Palace).
One of the most beautiful feature contributing to the mark of this world heritage is the dome architecture. The dome has graceful bearing medium, the circular domed arch outside the door, the stone is waxy bricks, walls and flat roof bring to the dome of the Imperial City a flawless beauty. From the smallest detail to the overall is designed to be harmony with the scale of space and the work of our father left, demonstrates the great talent of ancient architecture.
The Vietnamese military command under General Vo Nguyen Giap, had its headquarters in the citadel in the building known as D67. An underground tunnel enabled the military to flee to other parts in case of a raid.
Construction work for the National Assembly building in 2003 uncovered large remains of the citadel dating back to Thang Long. Some of the remains are now exhibited in the Vietnamese History Museum. Where the planned new National Assembly building should not be located is still open.
Starting in 2000, some of the old French barracks and buildings have been destroyed to make place for a new museum within the citadel.
In 2010 the citadel was inscribed on the UNESCO World Heritage List as "The Central Sector of the Imperial Citadel of Thang Long - Hanoi".