The different districts of Edinburgh, Scotland

The different districts of Edinburgh, Scotland

This travel tip gives you some information about the different districts of Edinburgh, Scotland.

- The Old Town — Edinburgh's medieval heart along the Royal Mile, which runs from the Castle to Holyrood Palace. Most of the really famous sites are in this area.

- The New Town — The other half of the city centre is the Georgian (late 18th century) New Town. The commercial heart of the city, this is what shopaholics make a beeline for.

- Stockbridge and Canonmills — Exclusive neighbourhood to the north of the New Town, some interesting independent shopping plus the most relaxing spot in the city - the Royal Botanic Garden.

- Leith — Edinburgh's independent-minded port area is a destination in its own right.

- Edinburgh/East — The beach district of Portobello and the historic village of Duddingston both lie in the east of the city.

- Edinburgh/South — A popular part of town for students, so there are plenty of interesting places to eat and drink. Further out is Edinburgh's Outdoor Playground of the Pentland Hills, and the intriguing Roslin Chapel.

- Edinburgh/West — Edinburgh's excellent zoo is here, plus the temple of sport that is Murrayfield rugby stadium.

- South Queensferry — On the north-western fringe of the city, site of the contrasting engineering marvels that are the Forth Bridges (one road and one rail). Quite a few hotels here and with good transport links to the city centre it can be a good base for visitors.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License.Based on a work at &