The city was founded by Juan de Salazar y Espinoza on August 15th1537, and has been called “mother of cities” because during the colonial age Asunción became an important place to rest and a supplying center for those who arrived from Europe and the River Plate, searching for the gold and the silver of the Alto Perú. Due to the great number of public works and the buildings constructed during the government of Don Carlos Antonio López and his son Francisco Solano, Asunción became a modern city. Many of these buildings do still exist, although they experienced great damages during the Triple Alliance War (1864 – 1870), also called “The Great War”. Once this war had been over, a reconstruction process started in the country. Today the city has a lovely appearance because of the combination of antique and modern buildings.
A route by historical Museums and buildings
1. Palacio de Gobierno, Mariscal Francisco Solano López e/ Ayolas y Oleary
2. Manzana de la Rivera, Ayolas Nº 129 e/ Benjamín Constant y Mariscal Francisco Solano López
3. Casa de la Independencia, 14 de Mayo y Pdte. Franco
4. Oratorio Nuestra Señora de la Asunción y Panteón Nacional de los Héroes, Palma y Chile
5. Museo del Cabildo- Centro Cultural de la República, Av. República e/ Chile y Alberdi
6. Iglesia de la Catedral, Independencia Nacional y Mariscal Francisco Solano López.
7. Museo Sinforiano Bogarín
8. Museo Nacional de Bellas Artes, Mcal. Estigarribia e Iturbe
9. Estación Central del Ferrocarril Carlos Antonio López, Eligio Ayala y México
10. Museo Etnografico Dr. Andrés Barbero, España 217 y Mompox
11. Centro de Artes Visuales (Museo del Barro), Grabadores del Cabichui e/ Emeterio Miranda y Cañada
CRUCERO PARAGUAY (Fantastic)
The Pantanal program offers the roundtrip Concepción – Fuerte Olimpo – Concepción on a luxury ship. An unforgettable six days trip to the Paraguayan Pantanal region. Phones: (595 21) 447710 – 440669 – firstname.lastname@example.org www.cruceroparaguay.info
TEN CATEN SHIP: Fishing and relax excursions weighing anchor at the port of Concepción. Air conditioning, 12 beds, dining room, 4 fishing engine driven boats. Information: Agencia Aventura. Phone: (595 31) 42742 – (595 971) 819822 . – email@example.com
Road 2, km 25. It is called “City of the Ñandutí”. Ñandutí is a handmade lace which is typical of Paraguay. Permanently, a variety of pieces of 300 samplers are exhibited. The Ñandutí Festival is celebrated every year on July and August. Museo Comunitario del Ñandutí: Any information required about the Ñandutí can be found in this Communitarian Museum (history, manufacture process, exhibition). It is located at the streets Gral. Bernardino Caballero & Pa’í Pérez, phone: (595 294) 20577. Iglesia Parroquial Virgen del Rosario: This parish church has been built between 1896 and 1908 on a central site in the city, nearby to the places where all the other buildings of the historical area are located. San Rafael Museum: In this parish museum for colonial religious and anthropological arts, 400 pieces of images as well as religious arts objects are exhibited. Phone: (595 294) 20252: Town Hall – (595 294) 20415: Parish. Address: Francisco Caballero Álvarez & Palma (behind the church).
Road 1, Km 37. It has been one of the most important Franciscan towns of converted Indians (called Reducciones). The character as such has been preserved through the customary practices of its people: their pottery and handmade basketry. Handicraft center: Located at Road 1 downtown the city, and a permanent pottery fair and exhibition of Guaraní-Hispanic ceramic, pitchers, blankets and many other fine handicrafts. Home of Doña Rosa Britez: Located at Road 1, where the city begins. Rosa Brítez is called the “ceramist of America”. Here she exhibits and sells her peculiar handicrafts. Ñande Ypy Handicraft Museum: Mrs. Mercedes de Servín. Tte. Rojas Silva & Gral. Caballero 1010. Phone: (595 24) 32244.
San Blas Church: Franciscan church built in 1698 and considered a historical relic
fundada en 1636, La artesanía en oro y plana, en cuero y Karanda’y, la música y la producción de Arpas y guitarras son signos inconfundibles de Luque.
Located 31km away from Asunción, known as the “strawberry capital”. At its streets and great number of shops, pottery and sweets are offered everywhere. The city has several historical and showy buildings. Seat of Government: Heritage of the family Irala Burgos. The Carlota Palmerola Castle: (1911) Now the convent of the Dominican sisters. The church Virgen de la Candelaria: Built up at a hill, it offers a beautiful sight of the Ypacaraí Lake. Historical area of the city: a group of large houses having a “corredor yeré” (house surrounding corridors), that belong to the national architectural, historical and cultural heritage. Central railroad station: one of the most important.
Attractive excursions can be made on Sundays from 10:00 to 16:30 hours, departing from the station Estación Botánico in Asunción, passing Luque on the way to Areguá. From there the train returns to Estación Botánico. Tickets are sold at the Central Station and the Estación Botánico. Refreshments are served on board, where an attractive show goes on during the trip, offering a vivid experience of the old times of our history. Address: Eligio Ayala & Mexico – Phone: (595 21) 447 848 / 443 273
Lunch at Don Pablo, in Aregua.
Monumento natural Cerros Kói y Chororí
They are located 1km away from the urban area of Areguá traveling on the branch road to Capiatá. These hills (12hect. of the Kói Hill and 5hect. of the Chrororí Hill) were declared protected areas in 1993.They are composed by sandstone columns formed 40 million years ago due to strong magma processes. This is a rare geo-morphological phenomenon known only in three places of the world: Paraguay, South Africa and Canada
Eco Reserva Mbatoví
This ecological reservation area is located at the branch road connecting Paraguarí and Piribebuy. When traveling on Road 1 it is at a distance of 72km from Asunción, and 93km when traveling on Road 2. It is located at the Cordillera de los Altos and is the largest ecological adventure park of our country. Rappelling on a 30m high natural mountain wall side and suspension bridges in the forests can be practiced. A natural reservation area with spring water, brooks, cascades, woods, and moss and fern covered rocky mountain paths. Phones: (595 21) 444 844 – (595 971) 299 250 . For reservations in Asunción: Alberdi 1445 e/e 2ª y 3ª. firstname.lastname@example.org – www.mbatovi.com.py.
.ATYRA: Located at a distance of 62km from Asunción, 11km from Altos and 7km from Tobatí.
Traveling on Road 2 up to a place named Curuzú Peregrino, from there 14km on the branch road. The Franciscan wood carvings inside the church of the late XVIII Century are extraordinarily magnificent. There are retable, an altar, images and objects of religious use, with an important artistic and historical value. The polychrome sarcophagus is used during the Holy Week. San Francisco de Asís - Museum of religious arts: It is a very valuable cultural heritage keeping religious pieces dated from the years of the first Franciscan missionaries arrived between 1570 -1600. Phone: (595 520) 20020, parish house. Address: Gral Díaz & San Francisco.