Made up of 12 countries, South America is bordered by the Pacific Ocean on the west, the Atlantic Ocean on the north and east, while the Caribbean Sea and North America lie to the northwest.

With a total land area of 17,840,000 sq km, South America contains less than 12% of the world’s population.

Home to the second largest mountain range (The Andes) and the second largest river (The Amazon), the continent is covered in rainforest.

While the continent is predominately Christian, South America’s ethnic diversity is made up of descendants of indigenous people like that of the Quechua, Aymara and Urarina. Spanish or Portuguese are the most spoken languages and the one homogeneous factor that all countries share in this continent is their beautiful and colourful cultural festivals and parades that exhibit the rich heritage and customs that thrive in the region.

The continent has a long historical presence of an ancient civilization called the Incas with their breath-taking ancient city of Machu Pichu that attracts thousands of travellers. Visitors also flock to the continent all year through as it boasts some of the best beaches in the world.