Bordered by the Arctic Ocean, the Atlantic Ocean and the Mediterranean, Black and Caspian Seas, Europe is the second smallest continent in the world with a total land area of 10,180,000 sq km.

Made up of 50 countries and culturally rich, Europe has deep roots in history with ancient Greece being the birthplace of western culture and also being commonly referred to as Latin Christendom since the 8th century.

With complex geology and climate, Europe has a wide variety of landscapes from the Scottish Highlands to the rolling plains of Hungary with climate that varies from subtropical to polar. Europe is divided into 7 regions made up of Scandinavia, Western Europe, Southern Europe, Central Europe, South-eastern Europe and Eastern Europe.

With a well preserved cultural heritage, open borders, efficient infrastructure, diverse art, rich music and a wide variety of cuisines, European countries welcome more than 480 million visitors each year.